Stian Angermund-Vik and Yuri Yoshizumi are the winners of the 2017 Binter Vertical Kilometer

By Press 0

Stian Angermund-Vik and Yuri Yoshizumi are the winners of the Binter Vertical Kilometer, the first sporting event of Transvulcania 2017, which took place last Thursday between Puerto de Tazacorte and the crag of El Time (Tijarafe). 

For the first time, the race was included in the first World Circuit of the distance, promoted by the International Skyrunning Federation (ISF), and had the participation of 200 runners from 24 countries who completed a route of 7.6 kilometres and a cumulative elevation gain of 1.203 metres.

Stian Angermund-Vik won the race with a mark of 47:22, ahead of Luis Alberto Hernando (48:39), with last year’s winner Saúl Padua coming third (50:41).

For her part, Yuri Yoshizumi finished with a time of 59:28 and shared the podium with Stephanie Jimenez (second in 1:01:18) and Zuzana Krchová (third position with a time of 1:04:33).

At the local level, the performance of James Ouchterlony was remarkable with a time of 55:24, as well as Aurelie Perez in the female category, who finished in 1:16:45. Sergio Pérez was second in the La Palma category finishing the route in 1:01:28, ahead of Luis Ángel Suárez, who stopped the clock in 1:02:19. La Palma athletes María José Díaz and Yurena San Fiel were second and third in the female La Palma category, with a time of 1:19:02 and 1:22:07, respectively.

After four editions, the Transvulcania Binter Vertical Kilometer is already one of the most attractive and spectacular races of Transvulcania. For the first time, the total number of places was full covered, which gives an idea of the popularity that this event has gained among the athletes and the public that cheered the participants throughout the entire race.


Leave a reply